Adventure Time: The Gritty Reboot


Algebraic! Since its debut in 2010, Adventure Time charmed over three million teenagers (and adults, who are we kidding) as the most imaginative cartoon around.

With the sixth season coming out, we transformed the fantastical cartoon world of Jake the Dog and Finn the Human into a live-action post-apocalyptic landscape. Stylized after Cormac McCarthy’s The Road, our movie trailer blended melancholic cinematography with CG animation to add a new dimension to the hand-drawn world. Our creative visuals and dark storytelling were greeted with immense press and accolades from Adventure Time creator Pendleton Ward, Frederator Studios, and over two million fans.

Gritty Reboots is our YouTube channel that takes popular and nostalgic video games, TV shows, comics and more and turns them into gritty, cinematic trailers.

Behind the Scenes

Take a look at our production and post-production process in this Behind the Scenes featurette. It chronicles our entire journey in crafting our post-apocalyptic Land of Ooo — from shooting on location in an abandoned Concrete factory to the creation of our entirely motion-captured CG character, Jake the Dog.

Visual Effects: Before and After

Press and Accolades

“You’ve all seen this live-action trailer from Gritty Reboots, right? It’s crazy good.”
Pendelton Ward, Frederator
“Gritty Reboots successfully transforms a weird and whimsical kids cartoon into a desolate and bleak film full of regret, sadness and loneliness.”


Produced by Cinesaurus
Director: Gabe Conroy
Concept: David Hudson, Steven Hudson
Director of Photography: David Zimmermann
Editor: David Zimmermann
Production Manager: Robert Bojorquez
Music & Sound: Hexany Audio
Visual Effects: Gabe Conroy, Steven Hudson, David Hudson, David Zimmermann
Additional VFX: Kial Natale
Prop Designer: Nick Nielsen
Production Assistant: Shelby Allman


Finn: Joe Homes
Princess Bubblegum: Kristina Horner
Jake (Voice): Chris Parker
Jake Mo-Cap: Forest Gibson
Ice King: Steven Hudson
Lemongrab (Voice): Brad Walker
Lemongrab (Body): Robert Bojorquez
B-MO: Kiri Callaghan
Flame Princess: Brigid Lohman
Marceline: Tara Theoharis